Delete a hub#

If you’d like to delete a hub, there are a few steps that we need to take:

  1. Remove the hub values file. Without removing the values file from the repository first, the hub could be redeployed by any merged PR that triggers our CI/CD pipeline. Open a PR that removes the appropriate config/clusters/<cluster_name>/<hub_name>.values.yaml file, and removes the associated hub entry from the config/clusters/<cluster_name>/cluster.yaml file. Steps 2 and 3 can be actioned while this PR is reviewed and merged.

  2. Backup the hub database. Backup the jupyterhub.sqlite db off the hub.

  3. Backup the home directory contents. Especially if we think that users will want this information in the future (or if we plan to re-deploy a hub elsewhere).

  4. Delete the Helm release. In the appropriate cluster, run helm --namespace <hub-name> delete <hub-name>

  5. Delete the kubernetes namespace. In the appropriate cluster, run kubectl delete namespace <hub-name>, to cleanup any possible leftovers that step (3) missed

  6. Delete the OAuth application. For each hub that uses Auth0, we create an Application in Auth0. There is a limited number of Auth0 applications available, so we should delete the one used by this hub when it’s done. You should be able to see the list of applications if you login to auth0 with your 2i2c google account.

    Similarly, for each hub that uses CILogon, we dynamically create an OAuth client application in CILogon using the cilogon_app.py script. Use the script to delete this CILogon client when a hub is removed.

    python3 deployer/cilogon_app.py delete <cluster-name> <hub-name>